top of page
Search

Breed 1: Leicester Longwool


Project #1: "Sheep's Clothing Cloak" using Leicester Longwool


I LOVE this cloak. To make it, I used a pound of Merino to wet felt a backing (OK, that was a little much, but I was COLD), and then needle felted Leicester Longwool locks (also a pound) painstakingly onto it using the shingling method. The result was very eye-catching; or at least sheep think so!


My review of the fiber: It doesn't get much prettier than Leicester Longwool. The long, ringlet curls with incredible luster come in a variety of colors and can be dyed beautifully. As far as pure aesthetics, it's one of my absolute favorites. That said, that silky shine comes with a downside; I find it somewhat more difficult to felt with, and stray hairs are a definite problem, especially working with locks! But let's be honest; when you're that pretty, you can get away with it.


Reflections on the project: I sell this cloak in my shop, but it's definitely not first on my list of "can't wait to make again" - mostly just because of the sheer amount of work that goes into it! That said, I LOVE wearing this cloak, and if you've been at a fiber festival at the same time as me, you've probably seen me wearing it there! When I make the next one, though, I'll be sure to do a felted backing after adding the locks, so other people don't get as much wool stuck to their clothes wearing theirs as I do in mine! I think the Leicester was a perfect choice for this project.

139 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shave 'Em to Save 'Em Challenge

Whoever thought of the "Shave 'Em to Save 'Em" program deserves the sheep equivalent to a Nobel Prize. What better way to celebrate and preserve rare livestock than by making it a scavenger hunt? With

bottom of page